Day 13 AEDM

Standard


Yesterday I went and splurged on a new set of crayons: Derwent Coloursoft pencils. I’d seen awesome examples of colored-in stamped images, using these pencils together with mineral spirits and a blending tool. Even though I am crayon-challenged, I just really wanted to try myself!

So this evening I sat down with my new crayons, a small bottle of no-odor mineral spirits and a set of doezelaars. I stamped this cute kittycat on cardstock, using the black Staz-on ink I was told to use (other inks get messed up by the mineral spirits) and got to work. I really do need some more practice but I must say I was somewhat happily surprised with my first attempt.

9 responses »

  1. @Marie I've tried watercolor pencils but couldn't quite get the hang of it. Also, to me it seems I need to be a lot more precise and careful with watercolor pencils then with these – though that could just be my imagination heh. And yes the colors are really nice and smooth, which is what I too like so much about this technique!

  2. Hi,
    Thanks for dropping in on my blog. I have used a plain fabric to back my toppers with and wadding in between to pad it slightly. They are all embellished with machine embroidery too :-)
    A x

leave a comment

