Sketchbook Project 2012 World Tour

Standard

After signing up for the Sketchbook Project 2012 World Tour back in October, and receiving my empty sketchbook somewhere in November.. I actually kind of forgot about it. The crazy of the end of semester at university hit and before I knew it there was hardly any time left to work on it. As I put down a good bit of money ($25 for being in the project itself and an additional $20 to have my sketchbook digitalized in the online library, so I could view it and share it with friends&family since not many of us -hardly anyone heh- will be able to view it in person during the tour or at the library) I really did want to follow through though, and as my last exam at university originally was scheduled for the 16th of January I decided 2 weeks would be plenty of time, right?

As it turned out though my schedule ended up being totally different and in the end there was just ONE day left to work on the sketchbook, as it had to be postmarked by the 31st of January. Eeeks.
I could still send it in after the 31st as well, but then my sketchbook wouldn’t be part of the World Tour. It would just be added to the gallery in the Brooklyn Art Library (and the digital library online). Which would be a shame but nothing earthshattering, so the afternoon of January 31 I installed myself at the kitchentable with some of my craft supplies and set to work. Thinking that if I made the deadline – cool – if not, I’d take my time and finish it to mail in later.

Long story short: I made it. Just barely but I made it.. I popped the envelope into a mailbox about 10 minutes prior to it being emptied. :)

I didn’t have the time (okay it ‘s starting to sound silly now) to make proper scans of the spreads but did manage to shoot some quick photographs before stuffing it into the envelope and jumping in the car to drop it off. So without further ado and rambling, here it is:

The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...
The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...The First ever...

View my sketchbook at the Digital Library of the Brooklyn Art Library here.

I’m not 100% happy with the result, but it’ll do. Ideally I would have rebound the sketchbook with signatures of black or dark antracite cardstock, as the original pages were way flimpsy and white (which works for sketching etc but not for what I had in mind). That didn’t happen cause a) I couldn’t find my bookbinding needle and thread b) the black cardstock I had wasn’t the proper size, and I didn’t have the time to go downtown to the specialty paper store for more and c) I just didn’t have the time to rebind period.  “Next time” I will make sure to take my time and not let it sit until the very last minute (I think ;)).

Some other things I would have liked different.. hmm.

  • I forgot to add something to the front of the sketchbook after covering it with scraps of textpages from a Dutch novel.
  • It has a typo in one of the title plates under the ATCs (doh!).
  • I used plain white printing paper to pring the titles etc on. I ran out of time to be able to look for my pretty paper to print on (see a pattern here? something to do with starting too late and running out of time haha).
  • I meant to add a bit of text to the first page, with some info on the theme and ATCs and all.. but ran out of time ;) so instead I just added a titlepage with my details’n’all.
  • Ideally I would have added more ATCs then I did now, and wanted to add a sort of colofon in the back listing the material I used (stamp make and all). What I did do was stick with my original theme: to create a traveling ATC exhibition inside the sketchbook.

But, as there just wasn’t enough time for all that.. I glued pages together back-to-back to make them more sturdy and used bookpages to cover them up and use as a background. Instead of hand tearing the pages to size (which I started on but got too frustrated especially after slicing my finger) I used a ruler&paperknife to cut them to size. I preferred the rougher edges of torn paper but the clean cut ones worked as well.. I created a few new ATCs and added more from my personal collection (I don’t trade all of my ATCs away but sometimes stick some in a book for myself to keep as well) to create the ‘traveling ATC exhibition’. I really do like the cover, and even though the inside ended up being very different from what I originally envisioned, I think it does ‘work’.

And if I decide to sign up for edition 2013 or one of their limited edition Sketchbook Projects.. please feel free to remind me to not procrastinate but Start Early! :D

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sketchbook Project 2012 World Tour | Craftyvox Creativity

  2. Pingback: Sketchbook Project 2012 World Tour | Craftyvox Creativity

leave a comment

